Become a Home Inspector
In North Carolina
So you're interested in becoming a home inspector or you have already made the decision to and now you're looking to determine what the process is and what steps are required. Depending on your education and experience there are several different options to becoming a home inspector in North Carolina. Highlights are shown below and hopefully will help you on your journey.
North Carolina Law
According to North Carolina and as set forth in the state statue
1. A home inspection is defined as:
" A written evaluation of two or more of the following components of a residential building: heating system, cooling system, plumbing system, electrical system, structural components, foundation, roof, masonry structure, exterior and interior components, or any other related residential housing component."
2. A home inspector is defined as:
"An individual who engages in the business of performing home inspections for compensation"
3. An individual offering home inspections for a fee or claiming to be a home inspector must meet the requirement set forth by the state of North Carolina and posses a valid home inspector license issued by the state. As with anything there are exceptions.
Individuals with limited experience or unrelated background but meet the states minimum requirements can become eligible to take the home inspector exam by completing a state approved 120 pre-licensing class room training followed by 80 hours of field training. High school degree required.
The State will recognize certain college degrees and prior work experience and may accept this education and experience in place of the pre-licensing training. This is at the discretion of the board and any approved applicant will still be required to pass the exam.
The Board also recognizes that some military education, training, testing and duty assignments – as evidenced by Military Occupational Specialties designations that may be unique to each service – may be credited as equivalent to education and experience required to perform home inspections for compensation in North Carolina. Passing the exam is required.
General Contractor, Engineers and Architects
Anyone who holds an active NC general contractors license for a minimum of 6 months or is a licensed engineer or architect are eligible to sit for the home inspectors licensing exam. The respective licenses must be maintained and remain active as long as the individual remains a licensed home inspector.
Reciprocity From Other States
On a case by case basis the NCHILB may accept home inspection licenses from other states as equivalent experience. This will allow a licensed inspector from another state to apply and take the NC home inspector licensing exam. You must past the NC exam to become licensed. Check with the NCHILB staff for a listing of approved states.
Free InterNACHI Membership
When you join our Community you will get a 1 year FREE membership to InterNACHI with full access to all of their training courses including the 120 hour pre-licensing course for those interested in becoming a home inspector. This is a great deal at an absolutely the best price around so JOIN US Today!
Taking the Exam
You must submit an application to the NCHILB, pay the fee application fee $35 and be approved prior to registering for the exam. Please note that this process takes time and the exam is only offered at specific times throughout the year. However, computer based options are available on a limited based check with the NCHILB staff for availability. We recommend that anyone taking the exam consider a review class since you must wait 6 months to retake the test if you fail.